Damp Opinion's on Hab Check needed :)

Penny13

Hi guys/girls could you share your opinion on buying this Swift Bolero with this habitation check done last year. We have been told they lifted the Lino and dried it out until readings were 14/16 ?
Paddison - AX12KPO - Damp 19-07-23.jpeg
Paddison - AX12KPO - Damp 19-07-23.jpeg
Paddison - AX12KPO - Sales Service 19-07-23.jpeg

A 20% reading is not that high, and I suspect the Lino prevented ventilation of the floor. The fact that the readings dropped soon after is good. But what concerns me is when this was done in July when you would have thought the van would be giving lower readings than in winter. I have no personal experience of Swift but many on here don’t rate them for this and other reasons. They do appear to have a poor reputation for dampness.
Are you buying from a dealership giving a warranty, or is there any residual water ingress warranty from Swift left.
Also what readings is the floor giving now, this could have been a spillage and only temporary.
I have a golden rule when making such a purchase, if you have any doubts don’t. But that’s just me.

Last edited:
How did the floor get wet enough to need to lift the vinyl and let it dry out?

Swift have probably sold more motorhomes here than any other brand I suspect so they must be doing something right. The reason we probably see more problems with them is there are so many of them! Any coach built van can suffer from Damp.

I would maybe get an independent hab check. If its had a problem how was it fixed?

Swift have probably sold more motorhomes here than any other brand I suspect so they must be doing something right. The reason we probably see more problems with them is there are so many of them! Any coach built van can suffer from Damp.

I would maybe get an independent hab check. If its had a problem how was it fixed?
My thoughts entirely Barry.
The only ones we hear of are the ones with issues.