PDA

View Full Version : Looking for nice overnight stops near Oban

Punica
18-05-2010, 18:42
Hi,

I've just booked my ferry crossing (Calais- Dover) for our very first motorhome trip!
We're going to Scotland and will be roughly touring around Glasgow - Loch Lomond - Oban - Arran - Ayrshire.

Looking for overnight stops or info on where to get water and dispose of waste. Do you need to book into camp sites for this or are there other possibilities?

Total novice at this, so any tips are more than welcome!

baloothebear
19-05-2010, 06:42
Looking for overnight stops or info on where to get water and dispose of waste. Do you need to book into camp sites for this or are there other possibilities?

Commercial sites will very often let you tip "waste" for either a fee or a contribution to a Charity. I know that the Camping & Caravan Club allow this and charge, according to their website, 6.50 This is for C&CC members only though. The Caravan Club may have a similar policy.

Some people crack open the grey water and let that go as they drive down the road

"Black" water? It depends on what type of tank you have for storing the product. If it is the removable type, then look for a Public WC and get there when there is no-one about: If it is the fixed bulk tank type, then I have found that sometimes a Coach company will allow you to tip for a small fee.

tony
20-05-2010, 17:49
Commercial sites will very often let you tip "waste" for either a fee or a contribution to a Charity. I know that the Camping & Caravan Club allow this and charge, according to their website, 6.50 This is for C&CC members only though. The Caravan Club may have a similar policy.

Some people crack open the grey water and let that go as they drive down the road