PDA

View Full Version : New Wildcamper

qwark
19-07-2011, 17:16
As I am new to wildcamping, what is the best way to get water (not drinking water), if you can't find a campsite? Can you use a garage for example? Also do many camps have chemical disposal?
I Know you can get round this by using campsites, but I am looking forward to waking up by a Scottish Loch or in the shadow of a Monroe. I am quite prepared to use campsites on ocassion, but I am not sure how often we need to do this to do this to empty out and take on water.
Thanks for any help.:)

Old_Arthur
19-07-2011, 17:32
welcome :wave: enjoy the site

Canalsman
19-07-2011, 18:57
As I am new to wildcamping, what is the best way to get water (not drinking water), if you can't find a campsite? Can you use a garage for example? Also do many camps have chemical disposal?
I Know you can get round this by using campsites, but I am looking forward to waking up by a Scottish Loch or in the shadow of a Monroe. I am quite prepared to use campsites on ocassion, but I am not sure how often we need to do this to do this to empty out and take on water.
Thanks for any help.:)

It's quite straightforward as my last week's wild camping proved.

You will find water at:

Garages
Public toilets
Sports/leisure grounds
Cemeteries

Doubtless there are other options ...

I have a collapsible 15 litre water carrier, and a 45 litre tank, so three trips to the tap and back and it's full.

Using a hose is easier, but sometimes you can't get close to the tap, or it's a press-and-hold tap which can be tricky to fit a connector onto.

There are ways round the press-and-hold - an assistant, a velcro strap, or a weight (e.g. a filled collapsible container!).

In essence, it's not a problem. Just be resourceful :)

tranivanman
20-07-2011, 08:11
hi

welcome to the site
you'll find lots of helpful people on here willing to give advice, all you have to do is ask and someone will reply with help.

happy wilding.

tranivanman

Randonneur