PDA

View Full Version : Tomtom users - update



fairytooth
27-06-2012, 13:40
As there are quite a few of us out there judging by the number of enquiries I get, I just thought I would post a quick info update about TomTom devices.

The free POI installation service I offer to full members has been well received and is continuing. So if you are not particularly satnav savvy and would like me to put the Wildcamping POIs on your device just send me a Private Message and I'll get back to you asap.

Also, because this crops up over and over again .... I am frequently asked which is the best model to buy for our purposes. The answer is simply almost any TomTom except the very latest models. This is because the software has changed making the new ones much harder to update and customise. If you want a specific recommendation I would probably go for the GO730 but there are plenty of others, older and newer, which are also very good.

And yes, there are other good makes too. Garmin for example. Having tried almost all satnavs I would still go for a tomtom myself.

Finally, because many of us escape to France each year, there is an excellent free website with POI downloads of all the French Aires. Much more comprehensive the the Vicarious Aires book. Let me know if you want details. :wave:

antiquesam
27-06-2012, 14:01
You are right about the new Tomtom. I just bought a Via 125 and am still trying to get a connect to the laptop, I'm on my 4th email to them and they now tell me it will not connect to Windows7 64 bit, brilliant,
I would appreciate the France aires before our foreign run in September

BrianG
27-06-2012, 16:18
Hi Graham,
I would really appreciate details of download for french aires. Mind you I'll probably PM you to install it. I'll give it try, - only way too learn, but I am computer thick!!!
Brian

Rockerboots
27-06-2012, 16:22
I have a TomTom Go 500 & find it very good but will have to update the maps sometime soon especialy as i too am off to France in September.

I would like info on this website too.

Andy

donkey too
27-06-2012, 16:37
Hi mate, Wht meets do you get to? What about coming to the brandon one and you could then do a workshop for us thickies.

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 16:44
You are right about the new Tomtom. I just bought a Via 125 and am still trying to get a connect to the laptop, I'm on my 4th email to them and they now tell me it will not connect to Windows7 64 bit, brilliant,
I would appreciate the France aires before our foreign run in September

Hi Sam

It will connect perfectly well with Windows7 64bit. I can put the Aires on for you, shouldn't be a problem. Have just done them for a Via135.

Can you just send me a Private Message and I will send you details.

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 16:47
I have a TomTom Go 500 & find it very good but will have to update the maps sometime soon especialy as i too am off to France in September.

I would like info on this website too.

Andy

Hi Andy

No problem. Just PM me for details - I can get it back to you within a week.

Cheers

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 16:51
Hi mate, Wht meets do you get to? What about coming to the brandon one and you could then do a workshop for us thickies.

Hi Bruce, I would love to do a workshop sometime if I can fit it in. Don't know about Brandon though. At the moment I'm trying to squeeze these jobs in between trips to France!

Never realised retirement could be so exhausting! :lol-053:

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 17:02
Hi Graham,
I would really appreciate details of download for french aires. Mind you I'll probably PM you to install it. I'll give it try, - only way too learn, but I am computer thick!!!
Brian

Hi Brian

Have sent you a PM

Cheers

Milney
27-06-2012, 19:14
Hi Fairy tooth
Advice would be good, i have just bought a new Camper&Caravan TomTom, Only used it twice so far as it stops in the Van, I have an old Tomtom XL for the day job ETC!!

So if i connect the Tomtom to my iMac i will be able to put all the POI's on the unit? any instructions at hand.....:lol-053:

Col

brian the man
27-06-2012, 19:46
Hi Brian

Have sent you a PM

Cheers

hi fairytooth its brian the man tried to send yoy a pm but don,t know how??have you a sat nav for sale with all the uk poi ,s on or if i send you mine and some money for doing it will you do it for me please. honest i,m new to all this .i even use 1 finger to type on computer. sorry to bother you. ps i,ve just become a paid up member, thanks again.

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 21:05
hi fairytooth its brian the man tried to send yoy a pm but don,t know how??have you a sat nav for sale with all the uk poi ,s on or if i send you mine and some money for doing it will you do it for me please. honest i,m new to all this .i even use 1 finger to type on computer. sorry to bother you. ps i,ve just become a paid up member, thanks again.

Hi Brian

No problem, technology gets the better of all of us atsome time or other.

I have sent you a PM to get you started. Hopefully you will see how to reply to it!

Basically, yes I can fix your tomtom or sell you one of mine as you wish.

Just let me know what you would like to do. Cheers!

Bushtrekker
27-06-2012, 21:14
I've just sent you a message asking how much you charge for your Tom Toms and it bounced back with an error message.

silverweed
27-06-2012, 21:41
Hi, could you please let me know the web site address for the French poi
Thanks. Anna x

fairytooth
27-06-2012, 23:11
I've just sent you a message asking how much you charge for your Tom Toms and it bounced back with an error message.

Hi Sorry about that and thanks for the info. Unfortunately that happens quite often - all ok again now.

To answer your question it varies a lot depending on the model. I don't set out to buy or sell tomtoms but I like to fix or refurbish them so I can look out for something for you if you give me an idea of your needs.

2madcollies
28-06-2012, 17:37
Hi Fairytooth

Did you get my PM?

MollsPhot
03-07-2012, 12:18
I'm intrigued by the new camper and caravan Tom Tom but it's rather expensive. Is it worth the money? Is it that much better?

fairytooth
03-07-2012, 13:32
Hi Fairytooth

Did you get my PM?

Sorry, no, I went over my PM limit. Sorted now.

fairytooth
03-07-2012, 13:35
I'm intrigued by the new camper and caravan Tom Tom but it's rather expensive. Is it worth the money? Is it that much better?

In a word, NO.

TomTom Truck software does all that and more and can be installed on older devices for a tiny fraction of the cost if you know someone able to do it :D

PM me if you would like any more info.

tommytli
03-07-2012, 16:31
ive just updated my tomtom go 730, the menu bar has changed which i dont mind, but the thing gets lost going around the block:mad2: the gps is all over the place, any ideas how to fix it?

tommytli
03-07-2012, 17:21
ive just updated my tomtom go 730, the menu bar has changed which i dont mind, but the thing gets lost going around the block:mad2: the gps is all over the place, any ideas how to fix it?

doesnt matter ive restored a previous backup

fairytooth
03-07-2012, 18:55
doesnt matter ive restored a previous backup

The tomtom home website has been having problems with the quickfix software updates. There have been a lot of complaints apparently.

fairytooth
03-07-2012, 18:58
Hi, could you please let me know the web site address for the French poi
Thanks. Anna x

The one I like best for French Aires and which seems very up to date is http://www.campingcar-infos.com/index2.php

tommytli
03-07-2012, 18:59
The tomtom home website has been having problems with the quickfix software updates. There have been a lot of complaints apparently.

thanks it will leave it a while before i update again lol

fairytooth
03-07-2012, 19:16
thanks it will leave it a while before i update again lol

I can't blame you for that! Here is the official tomtom response if you are feeling techie:

Investigations yesterday have resulted in a definite root cause for this problem, and as a result, there is now also a good fix scenario that some of you have already uncovered at this point.

First, how do you fix your device when you've ended up in the bad state of 'getting a quick fix, but solidly end up hundreds of meters away from your actual position'?

- remove the cached QuickGPSfix data from your computer (for me, this is: C:\Documents and Settings\behm\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Downloads\complete\ephemeris ) - remove the entire 'ephemeris' folder
- remove the 'ephem' folder from your device (or the content of the folder). Make sure that you remove both the prediction file itself (packedephemeris.ee) and the timestamp files
- connect your device to Home and download the latest QuickGPSfix file
- disconnect device from pc, maybe you need to do one more suspend/resume

Problem solved

tommytli
03-07-2012, 19:19
I can't blame you for that! Here is the official tomtom response if you are feeling techie:

Investigations yesterday have resulted in a definite root cause for this problem, and as a result, there is now also a good fix scenario that some of you have already uncovered at this point.

First, how do you fix your device when you've ended up in the bad state of 'getting a quick fix, but solidly end up hundreds of meters away from your actual position'?

- remove the cached QuickGPSfix data from your computer (for me, this is: C:\Documents and Settings\behm\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Downloads\complete\ephemeris ) - remove the entire 'ephemeris' folder
- remove the 'ephem' folder from your device (or the content of the folder). Make sure that you remove both the prediction file itself (packedephemeris.ee) and the timestamp files
- connect your device to Home and download the latest QuickGPSfix file
- disconnect device from pc, maybe you need to do one more suspend/resume

Problem solved


eeeeeermmmm???? lol i thing i will leave the update until they fix it lol


CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS