PDA

View Full Version : Ipad Mini download Google Earth POI

Talbot
02-01-2013, 21:47
Got an iPad Mini for xmas and I'm trying to add the POI database. I've read most of the threads on here but still struggling. This is a copy of instructions from a previous thread and I can't get beyond item 3) Now connect your device to iTunes. Does this mean connect my ipad mini to my laptop and drive itunes from the laptop? Sorry but I'm new to Apple devices and it's not fully clear what to do. Also, my ipad mini won't connect to my laptop as it came up with an error message. Any ideas how to try to reconnect? I've deinstalled itunes and reinstalled it but still no joy?

This is a little work around to get the POI database working with google earth on an iPhone or iPad.

1) Download Google Earth to your device.
2) Download a free app called "Map-o-meter" to your device.
3) Now connect your device to itunes
4) Click on your device in the left hand menu of itunes (under devices) to display it's information.
5) At the top of the main pane you should see "Summary Info Apps Music Movies TV Shows Books Photos" click on Apps.
6) Scroll down slightly until you come to "File Sharing" then on the left under "apps" click on "Map-o-meter".
7) At the bottom of the right pane "Map-o-meter" documents" click on "add".
8) Select the wildcamp.kml file from your downloaded POI file (wildcamping > Google Earth > wildcamp.kml)
9) Then once the file appears under "Map-o-meter" documents" click "apply" in the bottom right hand corner of itunes.

Your device is now setup and ready to use.
To open the file...

1) Open map-o-meter and click on the icon of a floppy disk in the bottom left hand corner.
2) Click on load file.
3) You should now see the Wildcamp.kml file, click on it and should give you the option to open it in google earth.

Enjoy...

DTDog
03-01-2013, 06:23