PDA

View Full Version : Compressor -v- 3 way fridge

Deadsfo
08-10-2013, 20:58
I will eventually require a fridge ,not quite ready for one yet, my question is what is the main advantage between the compressor and 3-way.
It seems to me that the compressor fridges are very expensive and you dont see as many second hand as you do the 3-way and only having 12/24 volt choice limits you to having a self sufficient electric system whereas you can run the 3-way on gas if there is no EHU and save your batteries for lights etc.On the other hand cutting great big holes in the side of my van for grilles and exhausts does'nt thrill me!!
I have no knowledge on the efficiency comparison between the two, is this a factor? ,another thing are the compressor fridges smaller for the same litres of internal space. Which is the noisiest, which would use the most power for the same litre fridge.
And generally any pertinent points anyone can add

Aladdinsane
08-10-2013, 21:16
If you went for a compressor you would have to factor in the cost of solar panels and controller plus a good sized battery bank.
A 3 way fridge plus the cost of a gas tank/bottles. (you will probably have gas for cooking?) It also depends on where you intend to use the van, here in the UK where the sun only shines on tv ;). or in mainland Europe where you have more sun. I went for a 3 way fridge and a 20 litre under slung gas tank so we are able to go away in winter without hook up.

Roger
08-10-2013, 21:19
There are advantages and disadvantages of both designs, the choice probably depends more on how you intend to use the van - if you travel every day and can recharge the batteries then the compressor fridges are more efficient, if you want to sit for a few days then the 3 way fridge is the way to go by running it on gas.