PDA

View Full Version : Advice welcome

Cactus Matt
21-10-2013, 03:06
Hello,
Newbie here so I'm going to ask some possibly silly, nieve questions. This is more for people who live in camper vans permanently although any good advice is welcome. I'll be getting a van pretty soon and want to try living in it for as long as I can cos I'm fed up of spending every penny I've got on rent and bills. BUT I've only got £3000. Is it possible to find a van for £3000 or less which is liveable in? Also, I'm not sure about where I'd put it. The maximum stay for campsites is usually 28 days I think. Are there any fairly cheap campsites that let you stay permanently? . I'm fine with wild camping but showering might be a problem. I doubt I'll get a van with a shower in it for £3000?
It'd be good to hear from some people who live in their camper permantly;to hear how you get by. I live in North Derbyshire now but will probably move down to the South West (wiltshire/Dorset) soon after I get the van.
Thanks
Matt

zipnolan
21-10-2013, 06:01
Campsites !!! ........ stop swearing.

Blodwyn Pig
21-10-2013, 06:24
Welcome to the forum from mid Derbyshire :welcome:

QFour
21-10-2013, 06:59
Staying on campsites is not going to work out very cheaply. Having read some of the live in posts they appear to move from place to place on a regular basis. Parking on roads etc. Suppose the answer to you shower problem is the leisure centre /pool . Some of the live aboards will be along as soon as they have picked up a free wi-fi hot spot. There is a guy at Mablethorpe living in a car and one of the Forum lives in a Land Rover. Stealth seems to be the way. Look like a van and nobody notices, Put windows in it and everyone will want to know who you are.

jenks
21-10-2013, 10:08