PDA

View Full Version : Solar Panels for Dummies

herbenny
20-11-2013, 15:00

n brown
20-11-2013, 15:17
the picture,a verrrrry blurrrry shot of nearly all of something,appears to be a zig unit ,which is a combo fuse board and 240v charger when on hookup. the controller is just that,it keeps the voltage coming from the panel to a steady level. the first 2 wires come from the panel,the next 2 go to the zig thing,the spare 2 are just a 12v feed if you want one. for the next bit you need a test meter ,have you got one ?

Smaug
20-11-2013, 15:24
We can't tell the size of you panels from that either!

But the wires to/from the PV controller are not that heavy so I would not expect that they (it?) were very big. I would estimate the wire as suitable for 5-10 Amp max & probably the lower end of that, but I am not an expert & it is hard to tell size from a photy. IF I am right you are probably looking at around 50-80 watts max. You need to look at the output current on a really sunny day & add about 30% - then multiply by 12 for the likely maximum rating in watts.

I like that your controller allows you to switch the charge between the two batteries, mine were completely separate until I installed a relay & I still need to be on EHU & connect a separate battery charger to top up my engine battery.

Switch anything on? Try switching on the sunlight, that will help! There should be some output shown on the black box in daylight, but it won't be that high if it's cloudy & even less in the rain at this time of year. The Eng/Aux battery switch is probably for the built in charger when on EHU, but it MAY work with the solar. Follow the wires from the black box +- in the centre that is marked going to the battery. It may go direct, or it may go to the white Zig unit.

herbenny
20-11-2013, 15:25
[

oldish hippy
20-11-2013, 15:45