PDA

View Full Version : France to Spain

grath
22-06-2008, 14:22
Has anyone either been through the Tunnel du Somport or the Tunnel d Aragnouet-Bielsa to Spain?:confused:
I would like to know what the area is like on either side of the tunnels both France and Spain and are there charges for these tunnels and how much.
We are just exploring the possibility of this area for our summer 2 week vacation.:confused:
Also, is there another route near to Vielha through Picos de Aneto ?:confused:
Or any other routes, bearing in mind that as an ex international trucker, I know the Irun and La Jonquera borders very well.:(
Just looking for new pastures and new experiences :cool:
I have just been looking at my old Spanish map and I see that there are quite a few small border crossings along the Pyrenees and any suggestions would be welcome. We like rivers and lakes

t&s
22-06-2008, 19:38
in those days we were in to mountains so i only remember there names but on this journeyy we did encounter many lakes and valleys all the journey was through realy stunning places .
so ile begin
Some years ago we followed some of the tour de france route going over some of the colls they use hard work in a van i dont know how they can even contemplate riding a bike 9 miles up a mountain
starting from Lourdes to luz st sauver d918 then to saint marie de campan d618 to bagneres de luchon /st lary/ st girons/foix then via andora to ripoli to olot in spain quite an intresting hill top town / then finaly to estartitt on costa brava for a well deserved rest (one hell of a drive )it took three over night stops on mountain tops ile say again one hell of a drive
i dont realy recomend andora if you are driving there up down up down up dowm extreemly narrow twisty roads just for duty free it aint worth the effort but for scenery do it once
sorry i have never used the tunnel you mention so cant offer any more help
cheers terry

grath
22-06-2008, 19:46