PDA

View Full Version : Living in Greece......

rottiontour
22-09-2014, 18:18
Thessalia....

It´s end of September and we are in Thessalia with m/home and dog. And I have nothing else to do than playing with computers or sitting in the sun, so I would like to tell some of the experiences i made with the daily life in Greece….through the eyes of a “Northlander”.
I am not an expert for Greece but we have been here for several times and got the one or other information which is interesting for us and might be for others too. So I write it down and…..you can smile about my “wooden” English.

Thessalia is our favourite region in Greece. There are many beautiful areas in Greece but Thessalia has portions of all of them….large towns, mountains and dark forests, flat green regions with water and fruits, rivers and beaches, crowded places and lonely spots and….it has maintained its own greek character, it is not too touristic and still the “real Greece of today”.
Not too many tourists travel to Thessalia and although the region does have a good climate and many beautiful spots…..the main capital of Larissa…. Olympos, the mystic mountain of the ancient Gods……the long beaches of Agiokampos…..Kissavos mountain….Pilion peninsula….Meteora monastries, etc, etc….the main bunch of tourists travels to the islands, the west coast and Peloponnissos.

East Coast……..

Agiokampos, the holy field

We are just in Agiokampos, “The Recreation Area” of the Larissa people. During July and August the beach is full of people, loads of restaurants, hotels, discos, beach bars…..fun everywhere. But it is more a “greek-style” relaxation, a little bit chaotic but charming. Outside the main season the number of people decreases significantly and after mid of September till mid June it is quiet and empty.

The road from Larissa to Agiokampos is in very good condition, 45 km are no problem but at the weekends in main season it could be traffic jam.