PDA

View Full Version : portable solar ideas

derathe
15-02-2016, 10:42
I have a folding solar panel, connected to a mppt etc, which i only use on occasion. I also have a very tightly fitting battery and have trouble attaching the cables from solar panel to it... so my question is, Has anyone an idea of a simple connection hard wired to battery that i can plug in/ connect solar cables to? thanks

Polar Bear
15-02-2016, 10:54
I have a folding solar panel, connected to a mppt etc, which i only use on occasion. I also have a very tightly fitting battery and have trouble attaching the cables from solar panel to it... so my question is, Has anyone an idea of a simple connection hard wired to battery that i can plug in/ connect solar cables to? thanks

When I was a lad mechanical engineer and had to fit batteries to cars of the day I had to drill a hole down each terminal to fix the cable caps down with the aid of a self tapper, the cables did not have a clamp as we now know it just a lead cup soldiered to the cable.

If I was struggling due to space and I had consider all the alternatives I'd fasten by drilling and tapping the post then bolting a ring connector crimped on to the cable.

You can buy batteries with bolt on terminals if you are due for a change?

oldish hippy
15-02-2016, 11:11
12volt socket 12V standard socket | Leisureshopdirect (https://www.leisureshopdirect.com/electric/12v-appliances/12v-plugs-and-sockets/cbe_12v_standard_socket-_euro_type.aspx)

maingate
15-02-2016, 11:20
I have a fixed panel on the roof and a spare freestanding panel if I need more solar power. I have a plug on the freestanding panel wiring and a socket hardwired to the regulator wiring. It is just a simple matter of opening the locker door and plugging in the second panel.

derathe
15-02-2016, 12:11