PDA

View Full Version : Virgin Mobile - Roaming not working



Biggarmac
21-02-2017, 15:27
Virgin Mobile seemed to offer a reasonable package for phone roaming; so I changed my contract to them. I rang the customer services just before I left the UK, as advised by them. Arrived in Spain a week ago. No phone service. Tried contacting them. Their online chat, constantly busy. No phone, not possible to call. No email address to contact. Whatever you do don't use this lousy company. On their forum there are others with this problem. Thank heavens for free wifi!

John Thompson
21-02-2017, 16:07
Go into a big Carrefour and get a Data Sim. I cost us 1 Euro a day I think it have gone up now to 1.29euro for 100mb of data per day. I changed to Virgin from Vodafone when we gave up full timing. Never tried roaming with them yet abroad but found their service was better for us in the UK.

Biggarmac
21-02-2017, 16:18
Thanks, but its not the data thats my problem. Its my main phone for calls and texts that is not working. Family and friends can't contact me, except by email. This is not convienent and is driving me mad. Virgin community keep giving me points and rankings for posting, which is making me madder still!

delicagirl
21-02-2017, 16:26
Thanks, but its not the data thats my problem. Its my main phone for calls and texts that is not working. Family and friends can't contact me, except by email. This is not convienent and is driving me mad. Virgin community keep giving me points and rankings for posting, which is making me madder still!

i used to have this happen to me and i took the phone into a phone shop and they changed some of the settings and i could then make calls and text.....

harrow
21-02-2017, 17:44
Thanks, but its not the data thats my problem. Its my main phone for calls and texts that is not working. Family and friends can't contact me, except by email. This is not convienent and is driving me mad. Virgin community keep giving me points and rankings for posting, which is making me madder still!

Some mobiles could be set to virgin (EE) only.

But you want the phone to use what network is available, and in Spain there are several and if you have network coverage they will all do the job.:wave::wave::wave:

QFour
23-02-2017, 22:02
As always .. Power down the phone .. Wait a few minutes power it back up .. Check you have set roaming .. You can dial 789 and work your way through the menu's and you can set your phone up to work outside the Uk .. Just done both of ours .. If you have an unlocked phone and you cannot get it working just get a pay as you go sim card .. Txt everyone your temporary number

..

alwaysared
24-02-2017, 09:34
Virgin Mobile seemed to offer a reasonable package for phone roaming; so I changed my contract to them. I rang the customer services just before I left the UK, as advised by them. Arrived in Spain a week ago. No phone service. Tried contacting them. Their online chat, constantly busy. No phone, not possible to call. No email address to contact. Whatever you do don't use this lousy company. On their forum there are others with this problem. Thank heavens for free wifi!

Funny I've used them the last two years in France, Germany, Belguim and Luxembourg without a problem..
You can check if roaming is on by logging into your account, log in, click on "Plan and Device > Manage Services". The instructions are on their FAQ (https://help.virginmedia.com/system/templates/selfservice/vm/help/customer/locale/en-GB/portal/200300000001000/article/HELP-2317/Using-your-Virgin-Mobile-abroad-FAQs?query=roaming) page.
You do realise that your can't use your data by simply turning on roaming? Only phone calls. I use a Three data sim for data.

Regards,
Del


CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS