CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS

Thread: Hello to all - Recommendations and Opinions Welcome

Member Number

Hello to all - Recommendations and Opinions Welcome

CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS
    Hi everyone,

I am a newbie as you have already guessed, about to purchase my first MH. I am Glasgow based and have spent the last six years or so mainly having holidays in self catering accommodation up north. In a past life I have spent some time holidaying in caravans but now is the time to seriously consider a MH. My current preference is for something probably German and under 7m in length. Something suitable for myself, my wife and two border terriers. I will be visiting the NEC next week to get some further ideas. Most importantly however is to get my lifestyle right so that I can spend some time doing something that I think I will really enjoy. I am looking forward getting up to date on all MH opinions. Currently my preference is Hymer or Carthago.. (probably 4 berth). I would love a relatively new A class new but perhaps a they are a bit above my budget. Any thoughts ? Interested in opinions and recommendations of good experiences with dealers.

Cheers... Willie

Pauljenny is offline INTERNATIONAL PLAYBOY
    Name: erm?
    Spouse: Management, ?

Member Number
    Motorhome
    Bentley Indigo
    Hello and welcome.
    Wise move,joining this bunch.
    My limited advice would be to try different sizes at the show, go round local dealers, at busy weekend times, not only to look inside vans, but to talk to their customers,parked there. The more you enquire, the more you'll learn.

Big vans are ok, but do have limitations as to where you can go with them.
    Are you going to use your van for long terming ?
    Would you prefer mainly campsites, or wildcamping? Do you really need 4 berths? A fixed bed is often a waste of valuable space.
    There's always a trade off and be prepared to compromise.