Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Yank in a campervan

Member Number
    Motorhome
    Burstner City Car camper van

Yank in a campervan

CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS
    Hi,

I am a retired teacher, from Arizona, in the United States, who decided to have an epic European adventure. I rented a camper van for 7 months, and am currently in Genoa, Italy, traveling by myself. I started out in Amsterdam, and have been on the road since April 18. Previously, I have only camped with friends who have motor homes, in the States, so the learning curve is steep. There have been some major rough spots, but I'm starting to feel like I know what I'm doing a little, at this point. I have no real plan, only tentative ideas, of where I want to go. There is nothing specific I need to do, other than just being immersed in other cultures. I've had lots of positive experiences so far.

I need to leave the Schengen Zone for 3 months, so I decided to head for the UK and Ireland in July. I have heard conflicting information about the importance of making reservations--especially for July and August. I love having the flexibility to change my plans, and be spontaneous, so I'm wondering if I am being foolish not making firm plans. I would love to hear opinions on this. I have the app **********, which I might try tomorrow, because I am having no luck finding an opening at a campground near Cinque Terre. Cost of sites are not as important as being safe and comfortable.

For a while, I thought I would spend the 3 months in Croatia, instead of the UK, in part because I'm a little nervous about driving on the other side of the road with a left hand wheel. I have driven on the other side, in Ireland for a week, and New Zealand, for a few weeks, with no real problem, but this thing is big (6 meters long) and I'm already a bit uneasy driving it here (although I'm getting better, I think).