CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Everyone thinks I've gone mad...

Member Number

Everyone thinks I've gone mad...

CLICK HERE TO REMOVE THESE ADVERTS
    Hi all,

A possible newbie here (I haven't made the leap into my own van...yet) looking for advice/reassurance/someone to tell me I'm leaping into this too soon...

Basically I live in North London and have been renting for several years. I'm 37, and lucky enough to be self employed. I really only need to be in London for 2 or 3 days a month, otherwise I can work anywhere there's a laptop an wifi/signal on my phone.

Unfortunately, as I *am* self employed, it can be a ballache to get the references together for estate agents. I literally just got turned down for a flat because I wanted to pay the years lease up front - A-OK with the estate agents, not so OK with the landlord who thought that was a sure sign I was super dodgy*, so rather than take my money, he wanted someone who would pay monthly? Yeah, doesn't make sense to me either..

Anyway, I find myself with the money in my pocket and unwilling to give it to a landlord. I also can't get a mortgage - nor do I want one for what is basically a tiny, overpriced breeding box in some new build homage to 1984, filled with rat racers.

So...I'd like to take full advantage of being self employed, with a large enough sum to buy an okish motorhome, and take to the road.

It's something I've always wanted to do, but it's only been the last few days that I've taken it seriously. I've found a van I like (auto trail scout, '99. I'll happily post the specs if anyone's interested in seeing if it looks up to scratch?) and I have a month left to get rid of all my stuff and start a new adventure.

I'm hoping that wild camping will save money - my plan is wild camp 5 out of 7 days as I tootle around the UK and Europe whilst I still can.